The Road Not Taken (Robert Frost)

Robert Frost is one of my favorite poets. The Road Not Taken has always resonated with me. I’m not sure why. It could be because the paths I tend to take are not always conventional. My mother use to say I tended to do things the hard way. It was said out of love, frustration, as well as with a hint of admiration. And, if I’m honest with myself, she may have been right. While many of the paths I’ve chosen to follow are not always traditional or the fastest way to achieve a particular goal, they have been interesting and provided insight and experiences that have served me well. No, they haven’t always been easy, but then most growth opportunities aren’t.

This blog is probably an example of that. I’m a private person. I don’t readily share my personal thoughts and feelings, nor am I much for writing. It’s always been difficult for me to express what is going on in my head, especially in written form. Yet, here I am, sharing what I am told will be both a spiritual, as well as, a physical journey. And, once again, I will be taking a lesser-traveled route.

Exactly, what “lesser-traveled” means is relative since approximately 30,000 individuals (13% of all Pilgrims) followed that route in 2013, and 35, 000 (14%) traveled it in 2014. In the end, it doesn’t really matter. Ultimately, individual life experiences and perspectives that each traveller brings to this or any trek are unique, and as such, will take them down a road that only they can travel.

I’m looking forward to what the road I will be traveling will bring to me!